Library Databases
Digital
Library
Materials
Job, Careers, & Skills Databases
Newspapers, Local History & Genealogy
General and Educational Databases
All our digital magazines are now available through Libby.
Learn more here for more tips & how to find Magazines new and old.
Access free downloadable eBooks, audiobooks, and magazines (NEW) on supported tablets, smartphones, and e-readers. You can find our catalog over at ebccls.overdrive.com.
Great news for Kindle users
eBooks can be sent to all Kindle devices.
Browse, Download, and Read
Download the Overdrive or Libby App for your mobile device and start reading today!
Libby
Checkout Information
- Checkout Limits: Up to 5 items at once; magazines do not count towards limit
- Loan Period: 2 weeks
- Fines: There are NO fines for digital content
- Renewals: If no one is waiting on the item, you can renew three days before it is due.
- Holds: If a book isn't available, click "Place a Hold" and you'll be notified when it's available.
- Hold Redelivery: If you can't read a hold when it becomes available to you, but want to remain on the list, select the earliest date you want it delivered and you'll be given the first available copy then.
- Early Returns: Books can be returned by using the "Check In" option located on the “My Books” page.
A digital collection of over 200,000 streaming and downloadable movies, TV shows, music, ebooks, comics, and audiobooks that you can access on your computer or download to a portable device. Set up your account and start browsing collections.
Checkout Information
- Checkout Limits: Up to 4 titles per month
- Holds: There are none. This is because, if an item is on Hoopla, you can check it out right away.
- Loan Periods for:
-
Audiobooks, eBooks & Comics: 21 days
-
Music: 7 days
-
Movies & TV Shows: 3 hours (72 hours) for most, 2 days (48 hours) for some
- Fines: There are NO fines for digital content
- Early Returns: Books can be returned early by clicking "return" underneath the item.
Download to Read, Watch, and Listen on the Go
Download the Hoopla App for your mobile device or computer and start reading today!
For your TV/Alexa
Did you know Hoopla is available for Android TV, Roku, Fire TV, AppleTV and your Alexa?
For Android TV, Apple TV, & Roku: On your device, go to the app/play/channel store and download the app/channel.
For Fire TV: On your computer, go to the amazon appstore and search for "Hoopla." From the app, select your Fire TV device and click "deliver."
For Alexa: Go to the amazon skills page and search for Hoopla. Enable the skill and when you want to play a Hoopla audiobook or music, say "Alexa, ask hoopla..."
Access over 26,000 independent, international, classic, or documentary films from producers and distributors such as Great Courses, Criterion Collection, PBS, and more. Visit the Kanopy website and start watching today.
Browse, Stream, and Watch
Download the Hoopla App for your
mobile device or Smart TV/Roku.
Borrowing Details
- Checkout limits: Up to 4 titles per month; use one play credit to access all of Kanopy Kids or the Great Courses. Kanopy regularly features credit-free titles for risk-free cinematic experimentation.
- Holds: None.
- Loan period: 3 days (72 hours)
- Current features: Hispanic Heritage Month titles.
Job, Careers, & Skills
3,000+ courses that include over 130,000 videos: business, design, web development, multimedia skills, software and more.
(RPL cardholder exclusive)
LinkedIn Learning now has an app.
To sign in, you must have your library card number and PIN. Our Library ID is ridgewoodlibrary.
For a full FAQ, click here.
Resource for:
-
Test prep, from APs to LSATs and beyond
-
Mock exams
-
Vocational & civil service training
-
Writing cover letters
-
Interview techniques
-
Career advice for first time and career changes
Detailed info on:
-
14 million U.S. businesses and employers
-
89 million U.S. residents
-
855,000 U.S. health care providers
-
Canadian businesses & residents
-
Job postings by field, location, company, etc.
Online Newspapers
To access Newspaper Archive from home, send:
Your first and last name & Your Ridgewood card number
via
Email to ask@ridgewoodlibrary.org or a chat message (red box to the bottom right of the webpage)
Historical
.jpg)
1891-Present. (In library use only)
Ridgewood News ONLY.
Historical Newspapers from New Jersey, including the Bergen Record. (In library use only), or remote with Ridgewood Library Card.
1851-2019.
In library use or remote with Ridgewood Library Card required.
Current
(2010-Present)
(In library use only)
The Heritage Center collections contains a wealth of documents and photos that preserves the memories of local peoples, communities, institutions, and individuals.
-
Supports the creation of the heritage of the future.
-
Provides information, education, culture and inspiration to the patrons.
Click the image to access the Heritage CATalog
Genealogy Databases
Ancestry Library Edition offers access to 705 million US names, US census images, and the UK/Ireland collection.
The searchable database includes records to assist in family research.
FamilySearch.org provides genealogy resources in a searchable platform. RPL is an Affiliate Library which allows researchers to view additional records.
Affiliate Library Records Available at Ridgewood Public Library ONLY.
Heritage Quest provides a wealth of resources related to public records such as immigration, wills, census, city directories, and more.
Research Databases
Aggregate of around 20 reference, literary, business, scholarly, and general databases, focusing on research and educational resources.
Partial list includes:
-
Academic Search Premier & Consumer Reports (a sub-set of the former)
-
GreenFILE (human impact on the environment)
-
Points of View Reference Center (contentious issues & sources discussing them)
-
Primary Search Reference eBook Collection
-
Legal Information Reference Center
-
OpenDissertations (historical & current doctoral dissertations and thesis)
Other Reference Databases
-
Perfect for new drivers and those who want to brush up
-
14 car practice tests
-
9 motorcycle practice tests
-
27 CDL (commercial driver’s license) practice tests
-
3 online driver’s manuals (car, motorcycle, CDL)
-
An FAQ section with detailed answers to over 100 questions
-
American and World History textbooks & reference materials
(Remote available only to RPL cardholders only)
Two databases: One focused on biographical materials. One focused on literary works and figures.